Daily Archives: June 25, 2011

Frugal Indulgence Day



It’s an indulgence day on the food front (Cheat Day!) and to make it an even sweeter day I made sure to carefully plan out lots of good deals (groupon, living social, and WTD deals). So far Matt and I have been romping around the city indulging in all sorts of fun. We started with some treats I’d be dreaming about all week

We then headed down to Georgetown to do some errands and for a sight-seeing boat ride! Great WTD deal, we enjoyed the historical narration and sights and snacks, of course

Then we walked past Sprinkles and I looked up the secret word (campfire!) and Matt and I each got a free chocolate marshmallow cupcake – yumm! Such a great deal to get a free one, I think they’re normally $2.50 each. The marshmallow insude was good, but it coulda used more of it. It was like a giant, high quality hostess cupcake with the hardened frosting on top.


‘Twas a beauty!

We finally headed to the Crepeaway because I had bought a deal $5 for $10 worth of crepes. Matt got a chicken caesar one and I got a tomato basil cheese one. They were quite tasty! When I bought the deal I had all sorts of plans for a nutella strawberry banana crepe, but after the cupcake and this morning’s chocolate croissants, I was completely sweeted out. Plus, it was lunch time and all we had eaten was real junk food, so we figured it was time for something more substantial. Although at this point we were very, very full.
The crepe was good, I love the combo of basil and tomato. I wish the cheese had been a better quality mozzarella and that the tomatoes were fresher. Alas, it was still yummy!
With out first half of the day eating and indulging over, we headed home to recover – think we’ll go lay by the pool! It’s a nice day out, not too hot, fairly cloudy, and nice. We’ve got some further adventures planned in a bit, but need some downtime first. Eating and site-seeing is lots of work! ;) Catch ya later!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Jazzy Friday

Today’s conference went by much quicker than yesterday. I think it was that the sessions were much more on-topic for me personally, the fact that I knew it was Friday (homestretch!) and also that it actually did end earlier! 3:30 rather than 5:30 like yesterday. Lunch involved this:Spinach salad mix, black beans, carrots, green beams, persian cucumbers, nutritional yeast, and a bunch of roasted veggies I added on at the conference from their lunch spread. Yumm.
Ok, the conference didn’t really “end” at 3:30… but a bunch of us interns realized that our note-taking and interviewing work was done, so, we took it upon ourselves to head home for the weekend! I was feeling a bit pooped after not sleeping great last night, but got energized on my walk home.

I rounded up Matt from his day-long museum excursions and we put together a fabulous, slow-carb diet-friendly picnic dinner to bring to Jazz in the Garden. It was my second time going and it was really fun the first time, basically a nice excuse to sit outside, sip wine, munch, and enjoy some live performances. It was really nice out today too, and thanks to getting out early we got a great spot on the lawn.

We ate … 

mmmm beans/salsa/avo combo mush :)

drank..

sat under the awesome tree scuplture..

and fell asleep! A perfect Friday evening :)


This is right after I woke up from a 40 minute pass-out in the middle of the giant crowd. Just making sure I didn’t look too cracked out … Matt was still asleep! Too much sun… too much work.. okay maybe too much wine ;)

We came back to my apt thinking we’d venture out again for drinks somewhere with some folks but once we chilled out we realized it would be just fabulous to stay put and have a relaxing night. I munched on some raw almonds and decided we needed a more fun snack for this Friday night – perfect night for kale chips!  

Time for some good sleep now. SO EXCITED for cheat day tomorrow!! I’ve got lots of goodies I’m looking forward to eating. Lots of ’em! Ones like this:

G’night.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized