Upping the miles, upping the veggies

Just got back from a great run with Melissa! I was worried I’d be sluggish and might not even be able to do the whole 7 miles, but, once we got truckin I felt good and more excited about the run. I took an aleve before heading out, in hopes to get rid of my headache I’d had throughout the afternoon, and figured it wouldn’t hurt with any soreness I might have after the run.  Today’s run was the longest run I’ve evern run outdoors! One time last June I ran 8 miles on a treadmill, but that doesn’t really count (no elevation whatsoever). So I’m pretty psyched that this is my longest on record :) Melissa and I talked lots of running talk, from socks, to shoes, to goo, to protein recovery. I realized that since I’m upping the miles so much I need to be more aware of recovery foods, protein after runs, etc. So right when we got back I whipped up a protein shake – 4 oz almond milk, 4 oz water, and 1 scoop of vanilla vegan powder. Ends up being about 90 calories and 13 g protein. After rinsing off and stretching (other way around) I cooked up some dinner – simple veggies with soy sauce and two egg whites. Perfecto. I’m pretty beat from the run – organizing some things here, video chatting with Jeffy, then an early bedtime. G night!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Upping the miles, upping the veggies

  1. Pingback: DC Recap | peanut butter trees

Leave a Reply

