Oatmeal Snack Bars

Well instead of going to a movie last night I whipped up a batch of granola bars! With Jeff and my upcoming camping trip I thought it would be great to have some home-made nutritious snacks for hiking and the like.

I also really miss baking! Back in the days before grad school I would bake something at least once a week – from cupcakes, to banana breads to cookies, I had the free time in the evenings and weekends and really enjoyed this down time in the kitchen, and sharing my goods with coworkers and friends. But alas, grad school eats up all time and so in these few precious weeks before it all starts again I figured I would squeeze in some baking time :)

So yesterday dad was gracious enough to treat me to a little trip to Whole Foods, wahoo! I had schemed that the best place for bar ingredients would be bulk bins, and Whole Foods had ’em.

I loaded up on lots of little bags of nuts, dried fruits, and oats.
Then the concocting began! I decided to try out Kath’s recipe for Baked Oatmeal Snack Bars. All mixed up.
Into the oven they go!

The finished product, after being cut with a pizza cutter.


Final verdict after splitting one with mom: They’re DELICIOUS!! Thick and chewy and healthfully tasty. Don’t worry dad, two of ’em have your name on them to try on Friday! 

Here’s the recipe and text Kath lists, with my modifications in pink

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts [I did 1/4 c chopped walnuts, 1/4 c chopped almonds]
  • 1/2 cup dried fruit (I mixed raisins, cranberries, and dates)
  • 1/4 cup seeds (I did half sunflower and half pumpkin)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp kosher salt (I used sea salt, all we had)
  • 1.25 cups skim milk (I used plain almond milk instead)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • [3 tbsp brown sugar]

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350*
  2. Mix dry ingredients.
  3. Mix wet ingredients.
  4. Pour wet into dry. Stir to combine.
  5. Pour into a 9×9 baking dish either coated in cooking spray or lined with parchment.
  6. Bake for 40 minutes.
  7. Cut into 9 squares.

Makes 9 servings . Each bar is appx. 170 calories, 3 grams fiber and 5 grams protein. [Cut into 12 squares reduces calories to about 125 calories per square] I’d add on some more calories due to the added brown sugar, see below. 

I added in a few spoonfuls of brown sugar too, as the recipe notes that the only sweetness comes from the fruit so to add sugar if you like, so I did.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Oatmeal Snack Bars

  1. I can’t believe it, but I’ve never made bars before. Of any kind, not just “energy bars,” but any kind, not even a single pan of brownies. It looks easy enough, and I always have most of those ingredients. Do you know what would happen without the egg? Maybe I’ll do some experimenting!

    • You should definitely try it out, it was super easy and had very little clean-up too! I had never made these type of bars before but I think it’s great to be able to control exactly what goes into a snack bar. Hmm I think the egg really helps to hold the bars together, so it might not work so well without it. I wonder if you could substitute a banana or something else to bind it? You could test it out maybe. Good luck and happy snacking!

  2. Pingback: Banana Bread Oat Bites | peanut butter trees

  3. Pingback: Day at the Beach, Flapjacks, and French Press | peanut butter trees

  4. Pingback: Camping Trip Prep & Granola makin’ | peanut butter trees

Leave a Reply

