Banana Bread Oat Bites

Well, I had a second baking adventure last night! I’m on a streak, huh? This time I tried out Allie’s Banana Bread Oat Bites that she adapted from cooksrecipes.  I’ve got more than enough ingredients from my Whole Foods bulk run, so I went for it! Maybe I’m on a mission to find my favorite granola bar recipe… 

This recipe involved mashed up bananas, vanilla extract, and some canola oil for the wet ingredients.. And rolled oats, coconut, sunflower seeds, and cinnamon for the dry ones. As for the fruit, I did almost the same as the other night’s bars, with dates, cranberries, raisins, but this time I also added some dried apricots. Some mixing action… All mixed up. Pre-oven…

(Missing one was split between mom and me – had to try ’em out!)

Post oven.

The verdict: Amazing!! I must say, I think I liked these better than the oatmeal snack bars. It’s the banana!! So yummy.

Here’s the recipe from Allie’s blog, with my modifications in pink:

Ingredients:

  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 1 cup chopped dates (I did a combo of dates, raisins, cranberries, and apricots) 
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 2 TBSP canola oil (I did 1 TBSP)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Optional add-ins:

  • 1 TBSP Chia Seeds (I did sunflower seeds and shredded coconut) 
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • I added a sprinkle of chocolate chips – only ended up in some of the bars! 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350* F. In a small bowl, combine chopped dates and a splash of hot water and let sit for a few minutes (to slightly rehydrate). In another small bowl, mash bananas with a fork. Mix in chopped dates, vanilla extract and canola oil. In a large bowl combine dry ingredients (oats and optional mix-ins). Add banana mixture to the dry ingredients and mix well. Let batter sit for 15 minutes. Form batter into cookie-shaped patties and place on a greased cookie sheet. Bake for 20 minutes. Makes ~14.

Now I’ve got all sorts of bars for our camping trip! :) 

As for this morning: It was a beautoful morning here in Newton and we’re about to head off to the Cape for the day. I wanted to get in some exercise before we hit the road, and with two days of long runs in a row, it was time for some cross training! I got up early and was biking on my mom’s new bike by 7:30am. I biked my running route (boring, I know) and added on some extra hills, totaling an 8 mile ride. Took about 45 minutes cuz I bike pretty slowly. I came back and was a weirdo and did some exercises in the back yard. I did:

100 leaning lunge combos with no weights  (or is that 50, since you alternate legs? I don’t know how to count…)
60 half dead lifts holding a 12 pound weight
– 1 set of the ab workout 
– stretch
Shower, breakfast similar to yesterday’s:  1/4 c rolled oats, blubes, strawbs, walnut pieces, drizzle of honey. Yum! Coffee with almond milk, too. (didn’t try out the french press, need coarser coffee grounds!) And we’re off! Happy Thursday!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Banana Bread Oat Bites

  1. Looks great! Love your combo of dried fruit.

  2. Pingback: Day at the Beach, Flapjacks, and French Press | peanut butter trees

  3. Pingback: Camping Trip Prep & Granola makin’ | peanut butter trees

  4. Pingback: Breakfasts on the Porch | peanut butter trees

Leave a Reply

